
WEN DF680iX
7.3Good · out of 10$798 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 5,100 W running · 6,800 W peak · Gasoline, Propane
- Inverter generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
If you're after 5,100 running watts (6,800 at start-up), the WEN DF680iX delivers, with a gas-or-propane fuel switch and clean inverter power on top. With automatic CO shutoff as well, it suits backup power that is kind to electronics.
| Brand | WEN |
|---|---|
| Category | Inverter generators |
| Running output | 5100 W |
| Peak output | 6800 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, propane |
| CO sensor | Stated, with automatic shutoff |
| Outlets named in the listing | L14-30R, TT-30R, USB |
| Engine | 224 cc |
| ASIN | B0DVF1RPCJ |
Full listing title: WEN 6800-Watt Dual Fuel RV-Ready Electric Start Portable Inverter Generator with Fuel Shut Off and CO Watchdog for Electric Vehicle Backup (DF680iX)
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators close to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. Enough on paper for the fridge, the freezer, the sump pump and a few circuits of lights. Central air on top of that is where the sum stops working.
What it has going for it
Gasoline or propane. Propane keeps for years in a sealed tank and won't gum up the carburetor between storms; gasoline gives you more watts. Propane is rated lower, so find that figure in the manual.
Inverter. The engine speeds up and slows down with the load, so it is quieter and thriftier at 3 a.m. when only the fridge and a lamp are on. The clean sine wave is kinder to laptops, TVs and the furnace control board.
Extension cords: run a heavy cord from the WEN DF680iX's 120 V outlets to the fridge and the freezer, and you're set for a night. Hard-wired loads like the furnace and the well pump can't join in that way.
A transfer switch: the listing names an L14-30R twist-lock. With an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock wired by an electrician, one cord feeds the panel, furnace and well pump included. Book that visit before storm season, not during the outage.
What the WEN DF680iX listing names:
In the box, per the listing: A wheel kit, A starter battery.
The manual for the WEN DF680iX has the final word on fuel, oil and outlet ratings.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $156.47 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it around the middle of the 18 generators of 4,000 to 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
Add the hookup to the budget: a heavy cord, an inlet box and an electrician's visit for the transfer switch or interlock.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0DVF1RPCJ), where today's price, stock and seller apply.

Well pump or central air on the list? The DuroMax XP12000EH (9.3/10) is rated 9,500 running watts.
Neighbours close by? The Westinghouse 5,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (9.2/10) states 52 dB.
Want to spend less? The A-iPower 5,000W Gas & Propane (7.3/10) was listed at $549.99 on Sep 30, 2026.
Our take
Our favourite thing about the WEN DF680iX is 5,100 running watts (6,800 at start-up), closely followed by a gas-or-propane fuel switch. No buyer reviews yet, so the WEN DF680iX has to win you over on paper. The catch with this WEN inverter generator: no 50 amp outlet in the listing, while most picks here have one. We'd pick it if you'd rather store propane tanks than cans of gas; otherwise, put it next to the AIVOLT 8,000W Dual Fuel Inverter first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load. Fit the wheel kit first; it is easier on the ground.
Push the start button, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the WEN DF680iX ships, check your load list: 5,100 running watts (6,800 at start-up) have to cover everything you run at once, motor surges included.
Read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge.
Plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the WEN DF680iX stacks up against the closest alternative, the AIVOLT 8,000W Dual Fuel Inverter.
| Criterion | WEN DF680iX | AIVOLT 8,000W Dual Fuel Inverter |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.3/10 | 7.3/10 |
| Running watts | 5,100 W | 6,100 W |
| Peak watts | 6,800 W | 8,000 W |
| 50 amp outlet | Not stated | Stated |
| Runtime | Not stated | 10 h at 25 % |
Both score 7.3/10. The AIVOLT 8,000W Dual Fuel Inverter adds more running watts (6,100 W) and a higher peak (8,000 W).
We rate it 7.3/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 5,100 W running and 6,800 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline and propane. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 5,100 running watts (6,800 at start-up), the choice of gasoline or propane, clean inverter power, a CO sensor that shuts the engine off and push-button electric start. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge. How it reaches the house: plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.