
DuroMax XP2300iH
6.5Good · out of 10$649 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 1,800 W running · 2,300 W peak · Gasoline, Propane
- Inverter generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
1,800 running watts (2,300 at start-up), a gas-or-propane fuel switch and clean inverter power: the DuroMax XP2300iH covers what matters most in an inverter generator. It makes most sense for tailgates, RV trips and a short blackout; we rate it 6.5/10 from its listing.
| Brand | DuroMax |
|---|---|
| Category | Inverter generators |
| Running output | 1800 W |
| Peak output | 2300 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, propane |
| ASIN | B08Z1FQJ6B |
Full listing title: DuroMax XP2300iH 2,300-Watt Dual Fuel Portable Digital Inverter Generator - Gas & Propane, RV & Emergency Ready
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also inverters, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. Room for the fridge, a few lamps, the router and the phones, as long as the coffee maker waits its turn. Central air and a 240 V well pump are out of its league.
What it has going for it
Gasoline or propane. Propane keeps for years in a sealed tank and won't gum up the carburetor between storms; gasoline gives you more watts. Propane is rated lower, so find that figure in the manual.
Inverter. The engine speeds up and slows down with the load, so it is quieter and thriftier at 3 a.m. when only the fridge and a lamp are on. The clean sine wave is kinder to laptops, TVs and the furnace control board.
At the campsite: it's an inverter, so the engine idles down at light loads, per the listing. Check the campground's generator hours before you pack it.
On outage night: 1,800 running watts keep the fridge cold and the lights and the Wi-Fi on, with the big draws taking turns. Central air and a 240 V well pump need more.
What the DuroMax XP2300iH listing names:
The manual has the last word on fuel, oil and the outlet ratings; read it before the first start.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $360.56 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it in the pricier third of the 33 generators up to 4,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
Add a fuel can, stabilizer and a quart of oil for the first fill to the budget.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B08Z1FQJ6B), where today's price, stock and seller apply.

Want a CO shutoff? The Generac 2,500W Inverter (7.1/10) names a CO sensor that shuts the engine off.
Well pump or central air on the list? The Westinghouse 5,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (9.2/10) is rated 3,900 running watts.
Neighbours close by? The Champion 2,500W Inverter (7.1/10) states 53 dB.
Our take
What we'd buy the DuroMax XP2300iH for is 1,800 running watts (2,300 at start-up), with a gas-or-propane fuel switch as a bonus. No buyer reviews yet, so the DuroMax XP2300iH has to win you over on paper. The catch with this DuroMax inverter generator: no electric start in the listing, while most picks here have one. We'd pick it if you need the fridge, lights and phones, not the whole house; otherwise, put it next to the Pulsar NE27BISC first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load.
Pull the cord, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before you order the DuroMax XP2300iH, check your load list: 1,800 running watts (2,300 at start-up) have to cover everything you run at once, motor surges included.
Read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge.
Plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the DuroMax XP2300iH stacks up against the closest alternative, the Pulsar NE27BISC.
| Criterion | DuroMax XP2300iH | Pulsar NE27BISC |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 6.5/10 | 6.6/10 |
| Running watts | 1,800 W | 2,200 W |
| Peak watts | 2,300 W | Not stated |
| CO sensor | Not stated | Stated |
| Runtime | Not stated | 6 h at 50 % |
Pick the Pulsar NE27BISC if you want our higher-rated option (6.6/10), with more running watts (2,200 W) and a CO sensor; stay with the DuroMax XP2300iH for a higher peak (2,300 W).
We rate it 6.5/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 1,800 W running and 2,300 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline and propane. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 1,800 running watts (2,300 at start-up), the choice of gasoline or propane and clean inverter power. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge. How it reaches the house: plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.