
Generac 4,000W Inverter
7.1Good · out of 10$899 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 3,000 W running · 4,000 W peak · Gasoline, Propane
- Inverter generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
3,000 running and 4,000 peak watts, the choice of gasoline or propane and an inverter engine that idles down at light load: the Generac 4,000W Inverter covers what matters most in an inverter generator. It suits camping trips and the essentials at home, and its sibling listing, the Generac 5,200W Dual Fuel Inverter, holds #4 in our dual fuel inverter generator ranking.
These are sold as variants of one listing family. Each variant has its own page.
| Brand | Generac |
|---|---|
| Category | Inverter generators |
| Running output | 3000 W |
| Peak output | 4000 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, propane |
| Stated runtime | Up to 13 hours at 50 % load |
| CO sensor | Stated, with automatic shutoff |
| Outlets named in the listing | USB |
| Stated warranty | 3 years |
| ASIN | B0H9Z8J22P |
Full listing title: Generac 4,000 Starting Watt Gas Portable Inverter Generator, Extension Cord
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also inverters, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. That covers the fridge, lights, the router and phone chargers if you add them up first; central air and a 240 V well pump are beyond it.
What it has going for it
Gasoline or propane. Propane keeps for years in a sealed tank and won't gum up the carburetor between storms; gasoline gives you more watts. Propane is rated lower, so find that figure in the manual.
Inverter. The engine speeds up and slows down with the load, so it is quieter and thriftier at 3 a.m. when only the fridge and a lamp are on. The clean sine wave is kinder to laptops, TVs and the furnace control board.
At the campsite: it's an inverter, so the engine idles down at light loads, per the listing. Check the campground's generator hours before you pack it.
On outage night: 3,000 running watts keep the fridge cold and the lights and the Wi-Fi on, with the big draws taking turns. Central air and a 240 V well pump need more.
What the Generac 4,000W Inverter listing names:
Warranty & support: A 3-year warranty, as stated in the listing.
That is the maker's promise, not ours. Keep the order confirmation, and register the Generac 4,000W Inverter if the maker asks you to.
The manual for the Generac 4,000W Inverter has the final word on fuel, oil and outlet ratings.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $299.67 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it in the pricier third of the 33 generators up to 4,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
Add a fuel can, stabilizer and a quart of oil for the first fill to the budget.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0H9Z8J22P), where today's price, stock and seller apply. Sizes and variants of the same family often sit at different prices.

Well pump or central air on the list? The Westinghouse 6,500W Dual Fuel (7.7/10) is rated 5,300 running watts.
Neighbours close by? The PowerSmart 3,800W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.4/10) states 59 dB.
Plugging in a camper? The Champion 4,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.4/10) has a TT-30R, the usual camper plug.
Our take
The Generac 4,000W Inverter earns its place with 3,000 running and 4,000 peak watts and the choice of gasoline or propane. No buyer reviews yet, so this Generac inverter generator has to win you over on paper. The catch with the Generac: no word on the propane rating. We'd pick it if you need the fridge, lights and phones, not the whole house; otherwise, put it next to the Champion 2,500W Inverter first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load.
Push the start button, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready. The 13 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the Generac 4,000W Inverter ships, check your load list: 3,000 running watts (4,000 at start-up) have to cover everything you run at once, motor surges included.
Read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge.
Plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the Generac 4,000W Inverter stacks up against the closest alternative, the Champion 2,500W Inverter.
| Criterion | Generac 4,000W Inverter | Champion 2,500W Inverter |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.1/10 | 7.1/10 |
| Running watts | 3,000 W | 1,850 W |
| Peak watts | 4,000 W | 2,500 W |
| Fuels | Gas, propane | Not stated |
| Start | Electric | Not stated |
Both score 7.1/10. The Generac 4,000W Inverter brings more running watts (3,000 W) and a higher peak (4,000 W), so it has the edge on paper.
We rate it 7.1/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 3,000 W running and 4,000 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline and propane. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 3,000 running watts (4,000 at start-up), the choice of gasoline or propane, clean inverter power, a CO sensor that shuts the engine off, push-button electric start and up to 13 hours per tank at 50 % load. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge. How it reaches the house: plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.