
WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog
7.8Very good · out of 10See current price ↗- Stated: 11,500 W running · 14,500 W peak · Gasoline, Propane, Natural gas
- Dual fuel generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
We like the WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog for the mix: 11,500 running and 14,500 peak watts, gasoline, propane and natural gas on one panel and a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV. It suits whole-house backup on three fuels, and its sibling listing, the WEN TF-1450, holds #4 in our tri-fuel portable generator ranking.
These are sold as variants of one listing family. Each variant has its own page.
| Brand | WEN |
|---|---|
| Category | Dual fuel generators |
| Running output | 11500 W |
| Peak output | 14500 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, natural gas, propane |
| Fuel tank | 8.2 gallons |
| CO sensor | Stated, with automatic shutoff |
| Transfer switch ready | Stated in the listing |
| Outlets named in the listing | 50 A (14-50R), L14-30R |
| ASIN | B0G66QMGT5 |
Full listing title: WEN 14,500-Watt 120V/240V Tri-Fuel Generator for Gas, Propane, and Natural Gas, Transfer-Switch Ready with Electric Start, Wheel Kit, and CO Watchdog (TF-1450X), Black & Red
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also open frames, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. On paper that covers the fridge, the freezer, the sump pump and, through a transfer switch, the furnace or a well pump; the start-up surge of the biggest motor is the number to check.
What it has going for it
Three fuels. Natural gas from the house line means no refuelling at 2 a.m., and it is also the lowest-output fuel of the three. The hookup is a job for a licensed gas fitter, not a hose and a guess.
50 amp outlet. The big plug that feeds a 50 amp inlet box, a transfer switch or a 50 amp RV. One cord carries both legs of 240 V, which is how the well pump and the furnace get power without extension cords through a window.
Extension cords: the fridge, the freezer and a lamp or two plug straight into the 120 V outlets on the frame. It costs little, but the furnace, the well pump and anything hard-wired stay off.
A transfer switch: the listing names an L14-30R twist-lock and a 50 amp outlet, and the seller calls it transfer-switch ready. An inlet box on the outside wall takes that plug, and an electrician wires it to a transfer switch or an interlock. After that, the furnace and the well pump run off the generator as well; the electrician's bill comes on top.
What the WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog listing names:
In the box, per the listing: A wheel kit, A starter battery.
The manual for the WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog has the final word on fuel, oil and outlet ratings.

We have no recent price on file for this listing, so we don't print an old one.
Count the hookup in the budget too: a heavy cord, an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock, wired by an electrician, are a separate bill.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0G66QMGT5), where today's price, stock and seller apply. Sizes and variants of the same family often sit at different prices.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 11,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Well pump or central air on the list? The Westinghouse 28,000W Tri-Fuel (7.8/10) is rated 20,000 running watts.
Only the fridge and a few lights? The Westinghouse 5,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (9.2/10) is a 3,900 W inverter.
Our take
The WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog earns its place with 11,500 running and 14,500 peak watts and gasoline, propane and natural gas on one panel. There are no buyer reviews to check it against yet, which makes it a bet on the listing. Honestly, the catch: no word on the propane rating or the runtime. We'd pick it if you want most of the house running, not just the fridge; otherwise, put it next to the Champion 16,875W Tri Fuel first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load. Fit the wheel kit first; it is easier on the ground.
Push the start button, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog goes in your cart, check your hookup: 11,500 running watts are only useful through an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock, so price in the electrician.
11,500 running watts and 14,500 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums.
Ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog stacks up against the closest alternative, the Champion 16,875W Tri Fuel.
| Criterion | WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog | Champion 16,875W Tri Fuel |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.8/10 | 7.8/10 |
| Running watts | 11,500 W | 13,500 W |
| Peak watts | 14,500 W | 16,875 W |
| 50 amp outlet | Stated | Not stated |
| Runtime | Not stated | 8 h |
Both score 7.8/10. The Champion 16,875W Tri Fuel adds more running watts (13,500 W) and a higher peak (16,875 W), while the WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog brings a 50 amp outlet.
We rate it 7.8/10 (very good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 11,500 W running and 14,500 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline, propane and natural gas. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 11,500 running watts (14,500 at start-up), gasoline, propane and natural gas on one panel, a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV, a CO sensor that shuts the engine off and push-button electric start. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: 11,500 running watts and 14,500 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums. How it reaches the house: ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.