
Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel
7.9Very good · out of 10$1,399 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 9,500 W running · 12,500 W peak · Gasoline, Propane
- Dual fuel generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
9,500 running and 12,500 peak watts, the choice of gasoline or propane and a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV: the Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel covers what matters most in a generator. A strong pick for whole-house backup through a transfer switch, and one of our top five 10,000 watt generators.
| Brand | Westinghouse |
|---|---|
| Category | Dual fuel generators |
| Running output | 9500 W |
| Peak output | 12500 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, propane |
| Propane running watts | 8,500 W, per the listing |
| Stated runtime | Up to 15 hours |
| Fuel tank | 6.6 gallons |
| CO sensor | Stated in the listing |
| Transfer switch ready | Stated in the listing |
| Outlets named in the listing | 50 A (14-50R), L14-30R, GFCI household |
| Fuel injection (EFI) | Stated in the listing |
| Engine | 457 cc |
| Stated warranty | 3 years |
| CARB compliant | Stated in the listing |
| ASIN | B0F5ZK2XPS |
Full listing title: Westinghouse 12500 Peak Watt EFI Dual Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator, Remote Electric Start, Transfer Switch Ready, Gas and Propane Powered, CO Sensor, CARB Compliant
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
The two picks next to it in our 10,000 watt generators ranking, with their rating and a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline; on propane it drops to 8,500. On paper that covers the fridge, the freezer, the sump pump and, through a transfer switch, the furnace or a well pump; the start-up surge of the biggest motor is the number to check.
Why it made our list
Gasoline or propane. Propane keeps for years in a sealed tank and won't gum up the carburetor between storms; gasoline gives you more watts. The listing puts propane at 8,500 running watts.
50 amp outlet. The big plug that feeds a 50 amp inlet box, a transfer switch or a 50 amp RV. One cord carries both legs of 240 V, which is how the well pump and the furnace get power without extension cords through a window.
Extension cords: run a heavy cord from the Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel's 120 V outlets (GFCI-protected, per the listing) to the fridge and the freezer, and you're set for a night. Hard-wired loads like the furnace and the well pump can't join in that way.
A transfer switch: the listing names an L14-30R twist-lock and a 50 amp outlet, and the seller calls it transfer-switch ready. With an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock wired by an electrician, one cord feeds the panel, furnace and well pump included. Book that visit before storm season, not during the outage.
The seller states, word for word, in the Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel listing:
12,500 peak watts, 9,500 running watts (gasoline).
Features one 120/240V 14–50R 50A outlet for home or RV and one 120/240V L14-30R 30A twist lock.
Equipped with 457cc Westinghouse 4-stroke OHV engine with durable cast iron sleeve.
Electronic fuel injection delivers higher power and torque, reduces fuel use and emissions, increases engine reliability, and needs less maintenance.
The seller's claims, quoted as written; we haven't measured any of it. The noise on your driveway and the surge of your well pump are things you only find out at home.

What the Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel listing names:
Warranty & support: A 3-year warranty, as stated in the listing · CARB compliance stated (all 50 states).
That is the maker's promise, not ours. Keep the order confirmation, and register the Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel if the maker asks you to.
Read the manual for the fuel, the oil grade and what each outlet is rated for before the first start.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $147.26 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it around the middle of the 37 generators above 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
Add the hookup to the budget: a heavy cord, an inlet box and an electrician's visit for the transfer switch or interlock.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0F5ZK2XPS), where today's price, stock and seller apply.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 11,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want to hook it to the gas line? The Westinghouse 13,500W Tri-Fuel (9.2/10) runs on gasoline, propane and natural gas.
Want a CO shutoff? The WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog (7.8/10) names a CO sensor that shuts the engine off.
Our take
We like the Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel for 9,500 running and 12,500 peak watts and the choice of gasoline or propane. No buyer has reviewed it yet, so our 7.9/10 comes from the spec sheet alone. Our main reservation: the DuroMax XP12000EH sitting above it at 9.3/10. We'd pick it if you want most of the house running, not just the fridge; otherwise, put it next to the Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel CO Sensor first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load.
Start it with the fob, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready. The 15 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual (the hour meter counts them), then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before you order the Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel, check the propane rating: it is rated 8,500 running watts on propane against 9,500 on gas, so size your list for the fuel you will actually use.
9,500 running watts and 12,500 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums.
It has a 50 amp outlet, which still needs an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock installed by an electrician. Our transfer switch guide explains the options.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
A 20 lb tank lasts far less than a day at half load on most big units; two or three full tanks make a realistic plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storing them safely.
How the Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel stacks up against the closest alternative in our ranking, the Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel CO Sensor.
| Criterion | Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel | Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel CO Sensor |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.9/10 | 7.9/10 |
| Runtime | 15 h | Not stated |
| Warranty | 3 years | Not stated |
Both score 7.9/10. The Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel brings a longer stated runtime (15 h) and a longer stated warranty (3 years), so it has the edge on paper.
We rate it 7.9/10 (very good), #4 of 5 in our 10,000 watt generator ranking. The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 9,500 W running and 12,500 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline and propane. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 9,500 running watts (12,500 at start-up), the choice of gasoline or propane, a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV, a built-in CO sensor, remote start from a key fob and up to 15 hours on a 6.6-gallon tank. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: 9,500 running watts and 12,500 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums. How it reaches the house: it has a 50 amp outlet, which still needs an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock installed by an electrician. Our transfer switch guide explains the options. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: a 20 lb tank lasts far less than a day at half load on most big units; two or three full tanks make a realistic plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storing them safely.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.
If the Westinghouse 12,500W EFI Dual Fuel hasn't sold you yet, see where it ranks or browse all dual fuel generators.