
Westinghouse 12,500W Tri-Fuel
7.9Very good · out of 10$1,149 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 9,500 W running · 12,500 W peak · Gasoline, Propane, Natural gas
- Dual fuel generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
If you're after 9,500 running watts (12,500 at start-up), the Westinghouse 12,500W Tri-Fuel delivers, with tri-fuel flexibility (gas, propane or natural gas) and an L14-30R twist-lock for a transfer switch on top. With a key-fob remote start as well, it suits storm country where gas stations close first.
| Brand | Westinghouse |
|---|---|
| Category | Dual fuel generators |
| Running output | 9500 W |
| Peak output | 12500 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, natural gas, propane |
| Propane running watts | 8,500 W, per the listing |
| Fuel tank | 6 gallons |
| Transfer switch ready | Stated in the listing |
| Outlets named in the listing | L14-30R, GFCI household |
| Engine | 457 cc |
| ASIN | B0BVGSFCPG |
Full listing title: Westinghouse 12500 Peak Watt Tri-Fuel Home Backup Portable Generator, Remote Electric Start, Transfer Switch Ready, Gas, Propane, and Natural Gas Powered
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also open frames, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline; on propane it drops to 8,500. Enough, on paper, for the fridge, the chest freezer and the sump pump at once, with the furnace or the well pump on top once a transfer switch is in. Hold the well pump's start-up surge against the peak before you count on it.
What it has going for it
Three fuels. Natural gas from the house line means no refuelling at 2 a.m., and it is also the lowest-output fuel of the three. The hookup is a job for a licensed gas fitter, not a hose and a guess.
L14-30R twist-lock. A locking 30 amp, 240 V outlet that matches a standard inlet box. With a transfer switch or an interlock fitted by an electrician, whole circuits run off the generator instead of a tangle of cords.
Extension cords: the cheapest start. The fridge, the freezer and a lamp plug into the 120 V outlets (GFCI-protected, per the listing); the furnace, the well pump and the water heater stay dark.
A transfer switch: the listing names an L14-30R twist-lock, and the seller calls it transfer-switch ready. With an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock wired by an electrician, one cord feeds the panel, furnace and well pump included. Book that visit before storm season, not during the outage.
The seller states, word for word, in the Westinghouse 12,500W Tri-Fuel listing:
12500 Peak Watts, 9500 Running Watts (Gasoline).
Features Two GFCI 120V 5–20R Standard Household Receptacle, One Transfer Switch Ready 120V L14-30R, and One RV Ready 120/240V 14–50R.
Their words and their figures, not our measurements. How loud it is twenty feet from your bedroom window, and whether it catches your well pump's start-up surge, no listing can tell you.

What the Westinghouse 12,500W Tri-Fuel listing names:
The manual has the last word on fuel, oil and the outlet ratings; read it before the first start.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $120.95 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it around the middle of the 37 generators above 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
The online price is the generator alone: the cord, the inlet box and the electrician who wires the transfer switch or interlock come on top.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0BVGSFCPG), where today's price, stock and seller apply.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 11,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want a CO shutoff? The WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog (7.8/10) names a CO sensor that shuts the engine off.
Well pump or central air on the list? The Champion 16,875W Tri Fuel (7.8/10) is rated 13,500 running watts.
Our take
Our favourite thing about the Westinghouse 12,500W Tri-Fuel is 9,500 running watts (12,500 at start-up), closely followed by tri-fuel flexibility (gas, propane or natural gas). No buyer reviews yet, so the Westinghouse 12,500W Tri-Fuel has to win you over on paper. Our main reservation: no 50 amp outlet in the listing, while most picks here have one. We'd pick it if you want most of the house running, not just the fridge; otherwise, put it next to the Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel CO Sensor first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load.
Start it with the fob, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual (the hour meter counts them), then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the Westinghouse 12,500W Tri-Fuel ships, check the propane rating: it is rated 8,500 running watts on propane against 9,500 on gas, so size your list for the fuel you will actually use.
9,500 running watts and 12,500 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums.
It has an L14-30R outlet, which still needs an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock installed by an electrician. Our transfer switch guide explains the options.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
A 20 lb tank lasts far less than a day at half load on most big units; two or three full tanks make a realistic plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storing them safely.
How the Westinghouse 12,500W Tri-Fuel stacks up against the closest alternative, the Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel CO Sensor.
| Criterion | Westinghouse 12,500W Tri-Fuel | Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel CO Sensor |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.9/10 | 7.9/10 |
| Fuels | Gas, propane, natural gas | Gas, propane |
| 50 amp outlet | Not stated | Stated |
| CO sensor | Not stated | Stated |
Both score 7.9/10. The Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel CO Sensor adds a 50 amp outlet and a CO sensor, while the Westinghouse 12,500W Tri-Fuel brings natural gas as a third fuel.
We rate it 7.9/10 (very good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 9,500 W running and 12,500 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline, propane and natural gas. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 9,500 running watts (12,500 at start-up), gasoline, propane and natural gas on one panel, an L14-30R twist-lock for a transfer switch and remote start from a key fob. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: 9,500 running watts and 12,500 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums. How it reaches the house: it has an L14-30R outlet, which still needs an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock installed by an electrician. Our transfer switch guide explains the options. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: a 20 lb tank lasts far less than a day at half load on most big units; two or three full tanks make a realistic plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storing them safely.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.