
DuroMax XP16000iH
7.3Good · out of 10$4,866.50 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 13,000 W running · 16,000 W peak · Gasoline, Propane
- Inverter generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
13,000 running and 16,000 peak watts, the choice of gasoline or propane and an inverter engine that idles down at light load: the DuroMax XP16000iH covers what matters most in an inverter generator. Add a transfer-switch-ready outlet and it makes a good match for a house that has to keep the well pump and the furnace going.
| Brand | DuroMax |
|---|---|
| Category | Inverter generators |
| Running output | 13000 W |
| Peak output | 16000 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, propane |
| Transfer switch ready | Stated in the listing |
| ASIN | B0BX1TXK7P |
Full listing title: DuroMax XP16000iH 16,000-Watt Dual Fuel Portable Digital Inverter Generator - Gas & Propane, Remote Electric Start, Whole Home Power Backup, Transfer Switch Ready, RV & Emergency Ready
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also inverters, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. Enough, on paper, for the fridge, the chest freezer and the sump pump at once, with the furnace or the well pump on top once a transfer switch is in. Hold the well pump's start-up surge against the peak before you count on it.
What it has going for it
Gasoline or propane. Propane keeps for years in a sealed tank and won't gum up the carburetor between storms; gasoline gives you more watts. Propane is rated lower, so find that figure in the manual.
Inverter. The engine speeds up and slows down with the load, so it is quieter and thriftier at 3 a.m. when only the fridge and a lamp are on. The clean sine wave is kinder to laptops, TVs and the furnace control board.
Extension cords: the fridge, the freezer and a lamp or two plug straight into the 120 V outlets on the frame. It costs little, but the furnace, the well pump and anything hard-wired stay off.
A transfer switch: the listing names a transfer-switch-ready outlet. That's the plug an inlet box takes. Once an electrician has wired the inlet and a transfer switch or interlock, the furnace and the well pump can run off it too; count that bill on top.
What the DuroMax XP16000iH listing names:
The manual for the DuroMax XP16000iH has the final word on fuel, oil and outlet ratings.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $374.35 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it in the pricier third of the 37 generators above 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
Count the hookup in the budget too: a heavy cord, an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock, wired by an electrician, are a separate bill.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0BX1TXK7P), where today's price, stock and seller apply.

Want to hook it to the gas line? The Westinghouse 13,500W Tri-Fuel (9.2/10) runs on gasoline, propane and natural gas.
Want a CO shutoff? The WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog (7.8/10) names a CO sensor that shuts the engine off.
Planning an inlet box and a transfer switch? The DuroMax XP13000EH (9.3/10) has a 50 amp outlet.
Our take
We like the DuroMax XP16000iH for 13,000 running and 16,000 peak watts and the choice of gasoline or propane. No buyer reviews yet, so the DuroMax XP16000iH has to win you over on paper. The catch with the DuroMax XP16000iH: no 50 amp outlet in the listing, while most picks here have one. We'd pick the DuroMax XP16000iH if you want most of the house running, not just the fridge; otherwise, put it next to the GENMAX 12,500W Tri-Fuel Inverter first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load.
Start it with the fob, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the DuroMax XP16000iH ships, check your hookup: 13,000 running watts are only useful through an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock, so price in the electrician.
13,000 running watts and 16,000 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums.
Ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the DuroMax XP16000iH stacks up against the closest alternative, the GENMAX 12,500W Tri-Fuel Inverter.
| Criterion | DuroMax XP16000iH | GENMAX 12,500W Tri-Fuel Inverter |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.3/10 | 7.7/10 |
| Running watts | 13,000 W | 10,500 W |
| Peak watts | 16,000 W | Not stated |
| Fuels | Gas, propane | Gas, propane, natural gas |
| 50 amp outlet | Not stated | Stated |
Pick the GENMAX 12,500W Tri-Fuel Inverter if you want our higher-rated option (7.7/10), with natural gas as a third fuel and a 50 amp outlet; stay with the DuroMax XP16000iH for more running watts (13,000 W) and a higher peak (16,000 W).
We rate it 7.3/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 13,000 W running and 16,000 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline and propane. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 13,000 running watts (16,000 at start-up), the choice of gasoline or propane, clean inverter power, a transfer-switch-ready outlet and remote start from a key fob. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: 13,000 running watts and 16,000 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums. How it reaches the house: ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.