
DuroMax XP5500EH
7.0Good · out of 10$769.95 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 4,500 W running · 5,500 W peak · Gasoline, Propane
- Dual fuel generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
We like the DuroMax XP5500EH for the mix: 4,500 running and 5,500 peak watts, the choice of gasoline or propane and push-button electric start. It suits the essentials circuits through a long outage, and its sibling listing, the DuroMax XP12000EH, holds #1 in our dual fuel generators for home backup ranking.
These are sold as variants of one listing family. Each variant has its own page.
| Brand | DuroMax |
|---|---|
| Category | Dual fuel generators |
| Running output | 4500 W |
| Peak output | 5500 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, propane |
| Stated runtime | Up to 9 hours |
| Outlets named in the listing | GFCI household |
| Engine | 224 cc |
| ASIN | B01MR3N1YX |
Full listing title: DuroMax XP5500EH 5,500-Watt Dual Fuel Portable Generator - Gas & Propane, Electric Start, RV & Emergency Ready
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also open frames, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. On paper that covers the fridge, the freezer, the sump pump and the lights; central air and a 240 V well pump together are another story.
What it has going for it
Gasoline or propane. Propane keeps for years in a sealed tank and won't gum up the carburetor between storms; gasoline gives you more watts. Propane is rated lower, so find that figure in the manual.
Electric start. A button instead of a pull cord, which matters at 5 a.m. in sleet. Keep the battery topped up between storms (a trickle charger does it).
Extension cords: the fridge, the freezer and a lamp or two plug straight into the 120 V outlets on the frame (GFCI-protected, per the listing). It costs little, but the furnace, the well pump and anything hard-wired stay off.
A transfer switch: the listing doesn't name a 30 or 50 amp twist-lock outlet, so look at the panel on the unit itself before you plan an inlet box around it.
The seller states, word for word, in the DuroMax XP5500EH listing:
Runtime (Propane) at 50% Load : 8 hrs.
Choose between operating the generator at both 120V and 240V simultaneously, or at 120V only with full power.
The power panel includes a wide selection of outlets for maximum compatibility in your applications including: (2) 120V household GFCI outlets, and (1) 120/240V 30A twist lock outlet.
The seller's claims, quoted as written; we haven't measured any of it. The noise on your driveway and the surge of your well pump are things you only find out at home.

What the DuroMax XP5500EH listing names:
The manual for the DuroMax XP5500EH has the final word on fuel, oil and outlet ratings.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $171.10 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it in the pricier third of the 18 generators of 4,000 to 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
The online price is the generator alone: the cord, the inlet box and the electrician who wires the transfer switch or interlock come on top.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B01MR3N1YX), where today's price, stock and seller apply. Sizes and variants of the same family often sit at different prices.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Westinghouse 5,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (9.2/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want a CO shutoff? The WEN DF680iX (7.3/10) names a CO sensor that shuts the engine off.
Planning an inlet box and a transfer switch? The Westinghouse 6,500W Dual Fuel (7.7/10) has an L14-30R outlet.
Our take
We like the DuroMax XP5500EH for 4,500 running and 5,500 peak watts and the choice of gasoline or propane. No buyer reviews yet, so the DuroMax XP5500EH has to win you over on paper. The catch with this DuroMax generator: no CO sensor in the listing, while most picks here have one. We'd pick the DuroMax XP5500EH if you'd rather store propane tanks than cans of gas; otherwise, put it next to the AIVOLT 7,500W Dual Fuel first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load.
Push the start button, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready. The 9 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before you order the DuroMax XP5500EH, check your load list: 4,500 running watts (5,500 at start-up) have to cover everything you run at once, motor surges included.
Read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge.
Plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the DuroMax XP5500EH stacks up against the closest alternative, the AIVOLT 7,500W Dual Fuel.
| Criterion | DuroMax XP5500EH | AIVOLT 7,500W Dual Fuel |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.0/10 | 7.2/10 |
| Running watts | 4,500 W | 6,300 W |
| Peak watts | 5,500 W | 7,500 W |
| 50 amp outlet | Not stated | Stated |
| CO sensor | Not stated | Stated |
Pick the AIVOLT 7,500W Dual Fuel if you want our higher-rated option (7.2/10), with more running watts (6,300 W) and a higher peak (7,500 W).
We rate it 7.0/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 4,500 W running and 5,500 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline and propane. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 4,500 running watts (5,500 at start-up), the choice of gasoline or propane, push-button electric start and up to 9 hours per tank. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge. How it reaches the house: plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.