
Generac 10,000W Gas, Electric Start
7.4Good · out of 10$1,049 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 8,000 W running · 10,000 W peak · Gasoline
- Gas-only generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
We like the Generac 10,000W Gas, Electric Start for the mix: 8,000 running and 10,000 peak watts, a CO sensor that shuts the engine off and push-button electric start. Add up to 10 hours per tank at 50 % load and it makes a good match for keeping the fridge and the sump pump running.
These are sold as variants of one listing family. Each variant has its own page.
| Brand | Generac |
|---|---|
| Category | Gas-only generators |
| Running output | 8000 W |
| Peak output | 10000 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline |
| Stated runtime | Up to 10 hours at 50 % load |
| CO sensor | Stated, with automatic shutoff |
| Outlets named in the listing | L14-30R, GFCI household |
| Engine | 420 cc |
| Stated warranty | 3 years |
| ASIN | B0GP2JJVV4 |
Full listing title: Generac 10,000 Starting Watt Portable Gas Generator, Electric Start
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also open frames, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states. On paper that covers the fridge, the freezer, the sump pump and the lights; central air and a 240 V well pump together are another story.
What it has going for it
CO shutoff. It watches for carbon monoxide building up around the unit and shuts the engine off, per the listing. A backup only: the generator still runs outside, about 20 ft from the house, exhaust pointing away.
Electric start. A button instead of a pull cord, which matters at 5 a.m. in sleet. Keep the battery topped up between storms (a trickle charger does it).
Extension cords: run a heavy cord from the Generac 10,000W Gas, Electric Start's 120 V outlets (GFCI-protected, per the listing) to the fridge and the freezer, and you're set for a night. Hard-wired loads like the furnace and the well pump can't join in that way.
A transfer switch: the listing names an L14-30R twist-lock. With an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock wired by an electrician, one cord feeds the panel, furnace and well pump included. Book that visit before storm season, not during the outage.
What the Generac 10,000W Gas, Electric Start listing names:
In the box, per the listing: A wheel kit, A starter battery.
Warranty & support: A 3-year warranty, as stated in the listing.
That is the maker's promise, not ours. Keep the order confirmation, and register the Generac 10,000W Gas, Electric Start if the maker asks you to.
Read the manual for the fuel, the oil grade and what each outlet is rated for before the first start.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $131.13 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it around the middle of the 18 generators of 4,000 to 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
Add the hookup to the budget: a heavy cord, an inlet box and an electrician's visit for the transfer switch or interlock.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0GP2JJVV4), where today's price, stock and seller apply. Sizes and variants of the same family often sit at different prices.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 11,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want propane as a backup fuel? The DuroMax XP12000EH (9.3/10) runs on gasoline and propane.
Well pump or central air on the list? The Champion 16,875W Tri Fuel (7.8/10) is rated 13,500 running watts.
Our take
We like the Generac 10,000W Gas, Electric Start for 8,000 running and 10,000 peak watts and a CO sensor that shuts the engine off. No buyer has reviewed it yet, so our 7.4/10 comes from the spec sheet alone. Where it falls short: an open frame is loud at full speed, so think about where it sits and who sleeps nearby. We'd pick it if kids or pets in the house make CO safety a must; otherwise, put it next to the Generac 10,000W Gas first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load. Fit the wheel kit first; it is easier on the ground.
Push the start button, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Keep stabilised cans ready, never refuel it hot. The 10 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. Add stabiliser or run the carburetor dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the Generac 10,000W Gas, Electric Start ships, check your load list: 8,000 running watts (10,000 at start-up) have to cover everything you run at once, motor surges included.
Read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge.
Plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
3 years are stated. Read what it covers (engine, alternator, labour), whether you have to register the unit, and where the nearest service centre is.
How the Generac 10,000W Gas, Electric Start stacks up against the closest alternative, the Generac 10,000W Gas.
| Criterion | Generac 10,000W Gas, Electric Start | Generac 10,000W Gas |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.4/10 | 7.0/10 |
| Running watts | 8,000 W | Not stated |
| Runtime | 10 h at 50 % | 12 h at 50 % |
| Warranty | 3 years | Not stated |
Pick the Generac 10,000W Gas if a longer stated runtime (12 h) matters more to you; on our rating, the Generac 10,000W Gas, Electric Start comes out ahead.
We rate it 7.4/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 8,000 W running and 10,000 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 8,000 running watts (10,000 at start-up), a CO sensor that shuts the engine off, push-button electric start, up to 10 hours per tank at 50 % load and a 3-year warranty. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge. How it reaches the house: plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. The warranty terms: 3 years are stated. Read what it covers (engine, alternator, labour), whether you have to register the unit, and where the nearest service centre is.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.