
Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord
7.1Good · out of 10$879 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 6,500 W running · 8,125 W peak · Gasoline
- Gas-only generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
6,500 running and 8,125 peak watts, a CO sensor that shuts the engine off and up to 10.5 hours per tank at 50 % load: the Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord covers what matters most in a generator. A good match for the essentials when the grid goes down, rated 7.1/10 on its documented specs.
These are sold as variants of one listing family. Each variant has its own page.
| Brand | Generac |
|---|---|
| Category | Gas-only generators |
| Running output | 6500 W |
| Peak output | 8125 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline |
| Stated runtime | Up to 10.5 hours at 50 % load |
| CO sensor | Stated, with automatic shutoff |
| ASIN | B0GP2YX6GN |
Full listing title: Generac 8,125 Starting Watt Portable Gas Generator, Extension Cord Included
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also open frames, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states. Write down what you'd run on a stormy night and add the biggest motor's surge: the fridge, the freezer and the sump pump fit inside that figure on paper, a 240 V well pump plus central air don't.
What it has going for it
CO shutoff. It watches for carbon monoxide building up around the unit and shuts the engine off, per the listing. A backup only: the generator still runs outside, about 20 ft from the house, exhaust pointing away.
10.5 h runtime. That is at 50 % load, per the listing. Put the fridge, the furnace fan and the sump pump on it and the hours drop, so plan fuel for the overnight stretch: stabilised cans or a spare 20 lb propane tank.
Extension cords: run a heavy cord from the Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord's 120 V outlets to the fridge and the freezer, and you're set for a night. Hard-wired loads like the furnace and the well pump can't join in that way.
A transfer switch: the listing doesn't name a 30 or 50 amp twist-lock outlet, so look at the panel on the unit itself before you plan an inlet box around it.
The seller states, word for word, in the Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord listing:
Generac PowerRush Advanced Technology delivers 40% more starting capacity with 6500 running watts and 8125 starting watts.
Dependable OHV engine with large-capacity steel fuel tank and integrated fuel gauge provides up to 10.5 hours of continuous power at 50% load.
That's the seller talking, not us. No listing tells you how it sounds at 2 a.m. under the bedroom window, or how it takes the well pump's surge.

What the Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord listing names:
The manual has the last word on fuel, oil and the outlet ratings; read it before the first start.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $135.23 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it around the middle of the 18 generators of 4,000 to 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
The online price is the generator alone: the cord, the inlet box and the electrician who wires the transfer switch or interlock come on top.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0GP2YX6GN), where today's price, stock and seller apply. Sizes and variants of the same family often sit at different prices.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 8,500W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want propane as a backup fuel? The Westinghouse 6,500W Dual Fuel (7.7/10) runs on gasoline and propane.
Rather not pull a cord on a January morning? The Champion 8,125W Tri Fuel (7.6/10) has electric start.
Our take
We like the Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord for 6,500 running and 8,125 peak watts and a CO sensor that shuts the engine off. No buyer reviews yet, so the Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord has to win you over on paper. The catch with this Generac generator: no electric start in the listing, while most picks here have one. We'd pick the Generac if kids or pets in the house make CO safety a must; otherwise, put it next to the Generac 10,000W Gas first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load. Fit the wheel kit first; it is easier on the ground.
Pull the cord, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Keep stabilised cans ready, never refuel it hot. The 10.5 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes. Add stabiliser or run the carburetor dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual (the hour meter counts them), then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before you order the Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord, check your load list: 6,500 running watts (8,125 at start-up) have to cover everything you run at once, motor surges included.
Read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge.
Plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months: stabiliser, a dry place for the cans, and a run every month or so keep it ready. Our fuel storage guide and maintenance schedule cover both.
How the Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord stacks up against the closest alternative, the Generac 10,000W Gas.
| Criterion | Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord | Generac 10,000W Gas |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.1/10 | 7.0/10 |
| Running watts | 6,500 W | Not stated |
| Peak watts | 8,125 W | 10,000 W |
| Start | Not stated | Electric |
| Runtime | 10.5 h at 50 % | 12 h at 50 % |
Pick the Generac 10,000W Gas if a higher peak (10,000 W) and electric start matter more to you; on our rating, the Generac 8,125W Gas with Cord comes out ahead.
We rate it 7.1/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 6,500 W running and 8,125 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 6,500 running watts (8,125 at start-up), a CO sensor that shuts the engine off and up to 10.5 hours per tank at 50 % load. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge. How it reaches the house: plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel and storage: gasoline goes stale in a few months: stabiliser, a dry place for the cans, and a run every month or so keep it ready. Our fuel storage guide and maintenance schedule cover both.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.