
Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel
7.3Good · out of 10$1,169 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 9,500 W running · 12,500 W peak · Gasoline, Propane, Natural gas
- 48 buyer reviews
- Dual fuel generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing and 48 buyer reviews, not from our own use · How we rate
We like the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel for the mix: 9,500 running and 12,500 peak watts, gasoline, propane and natural gas on one panel and a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV. A strong pick for storm country where gas stations close first, and one of our top 4 dual fuel generators for home backup.
These are sold as variants of one listing family. Each variant has its own page.
| Brand | Generac |
|---|---|
| Category | Dual fuel generators |
| Running output | 9500 W |
| Peak output | 12500 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, natural gas, propane |
| Stated runtime | Up to 9.5 hours at 50 % load |
| Fuel tank | 7.5 gallons |
| CO sensor | Stated, with automatic shutoff |
| Transfer switch ready | Stated in the listing |
| Outlets named in the listing | 50 A (14-50R), L14-30R, GFCI household |
| Engine | 500 cc |
| Buyer reviews | 48 · 4.3/5 |
| ASIN | B0GP2QCSZQ |
Full listing title: Generac 12,500 Starting Watt Tri-Fuel Portable Generator, Electric Start
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
The two picks next to it in our dual fuel generators for home backup ranking, with their rating and a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. Enough, on paper, for the fridge, the chest freezer and the sump pump at once, with the furnace or the well pump on top once a transfer switch is in. Hold the well pump's start-up surge against the peak before you count on it.
Why it made our list
Three fuels. Natural gas from the house line means no refuelling at 2 a.m., and it is also the lowest-output fuel of the three. The hookup is a job for a licensed gas fitter, not a hose and a guess.
50 amp outlet. The big plug that feeds a 50 amp inlet box, a transfer switch or a 50 amp RV. One cord carries both legs of 240 V, which is how the well pump and the furnace get power without extension cords through a window.
Extension cords: the cheapest start. The fridge, the freezer and a lamp plug into the 120 V outlets (GFCI-protected, per the listing); the furnace, the well pump and the water heater stay dark.
A transfer switch: the listing names an L14-30R twist-lock and a 50 amp outlet. With an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock wired by an electrician, one cord feeds the panel, furnace and well pump included. Book that visit before storm season, not during the outage.
The seller states, word for word, in the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel listing:
Run on gasoline, liquid propane, or natural gas with a simple dial turn.
Onboard COsense automatically detects rising carbon monoxide levels and shuts the generator down before reaching dangerous thresholds.
Run up to 9.5 hours at 50% load on gasoline, 14 hours at 25% load, or connect to a natural gas line for virtually unlimited runtime.
Steel-tube cradle frame, 9.5-inch never-flat wheels, and a folding handle make relocation manageable at 219 lbs.
Their words and their figures, not our measurements. How loud it is twenty feet from your bedroom window, and whether it catches your well pump's start-up surge, no listing can tell you.

What the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel listing names:
In the box, per the listing: Engine oil, A wheel kit, A starter battery.
The manual has the last word on fuel, oil and the outlet ratings; read it before the first start.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $123.05 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it around the middle of the 37 generators above 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
The online price is the generator alone: the cord, the inlet box and the electrician who wires the transfer switch or interlock come on top.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0GP2QCSZQ), where today's price, stock and seller apply. Sizes and variants of the same family often sit at different prices.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 11,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Well pump or central air on the list? The Champion 16,875W Tri Fuel (7.8/10) is rated 13,500 running watts.
Only the fridge and a few lights? The Westinghouse 5,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (9.2/10) is a 3,900 W inverter.
Our take
We like the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel for 9,500 running and 12,500 peak watts and gasoline, propane and natural gas on one panel. Only 48 buyers have rated it so far (4.3/5), so treat the score as an early read. Where it falls short: their 4.3/5 average sits under the 4.5 of this ranking. We'd pick it if you want most of the house running, not just the fridge; otherwise, put it next to the Champion 12,500W Tri Fuel first.
Fill it with oil (the listing says a bottle comes in the box) before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load. Fit the wheel kit first; it is easier on the ground.
Push the start button, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready. The 9.5 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual (the hour meter counts them), then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Buyers give it 4.3/5, a solid record, slightly below this ranking's 4.5 average. Only 48 reviews so far, and our formula damps averages built on fewer than 50.
Before the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel goes in your cart, check your hookup: 9,500 running watts are only useful through an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock, so price in the electrician.
9,500 running watts and 12,500 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums.
Ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel stacks up against the closest alternative in our ranking, the Champion 12,500W Tri Fuel.
| Criterion | Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel | Champion 12,500W Tri Fuel |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.3/10 | 8.2/10 |
| Running watts | 9,500 W | 10,000 W |
| 50 amp outlet | Stated | Not stated |
| Runtime | 9.5 h at 50 % | Not stated |
| Warranty | Not stated | 3 years |
| Buyer reviews | 48 · 4.3/5 | 165 · 4.5/5 |
Pick the Champion 12,500W Tri Fuel if you want our higher-rated option (8.2/10), with more running watts (10,000 W) and a longer stated warranty (3 years); stay with the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel for a 50 amp outlet and a longer stated runtime (9.5 h).
We rate it 7.3/10 (good), #4 of 4 in our dual fuel generators for home backup ranking. It is based on 48 buyer reviews averaging 4.3/5 and the specifications stated in the listing.
The listing or manual states 9,500 W running and 12,500 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline, propane and natural gas. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 9,500 running watts (12,500 at start-up), gasoline, propane and natural gas on one panel, a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV, a CO sensor that shuts the engine off, push-button electric start and up to 9.5 hours on a 7.5-gallon tank at 50 % load. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: 9,500 running watts and 12,500 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums. How it reaches the house: ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing and 48 buyer reviews, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.
If the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel hasn't sold you yet, see where it ranks or browse all dual fuel generators.