
Generac 12,500W Tri Fuel EFI
7.4Good · out of 10$1,399 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 8,550 W running · Gasoline, Propane, Natural gas
- Dual fuel generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
The Generac 12,500W Tri Fuel EFI packs 8,550 running watts, gasoline, propane and natural gas on one panel and a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV into one generator. It suits a house with a natural gas line and long outages, and its sibling listing, the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel, holds #4 in our dual fuel generators for home backup ranking.
These are sold as variants of one listing family. Each variant has its own page.
| Brand | Generac |
|---|---|
| Category | Dual fuel generators |
| Running output | 8550 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, natural gas, propane |
| Stated runtime | Up to 14 hours at 25 % load |
| Fuel tank | 7.5 gallons |
| CO sensor | Stated, with automatic shutoff |
| Transfer switch ready | Stated in the listing |
| Outlets named in the listing | 50 A (14-50R), L14-30R, GFCI household |
| Fuel injection (EFI) | Stated in the listing |
| ASIN | B0DT7SCRK9 |
Full listing title: Generac 12,500 Watt Tri Fuel Generator with EFI and Electric Start
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|
Two generators that are also open frames, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. Enough, on paper, for the fridge, the chest freezer and the sump pump at once, with the furnace or the well pump on top once a transfer switch is in. Hold the well pump's start-up surge against the peak before you count on it.
What it has going for it
Three fuels. Natural gas from the house line means no refuelling at 2 a.m., and it is also the lowest-output fuel of the three. The hookup is a job for a licensed gas fitter, not a hose and a guess.
50 amp outlet. The big plug that feeds a 50 amp inlet box, a transfer switch or a 50 amp RV. One cord carries both legs of 240 V, which is how the well pump and the furnace get power without extension cords through a window.
Extension cords: the cheapest start. The fridge, the freezer and a lamp plug into the 120 V outlets (GFCI-protected, per the listing); the furnace, the well pump and the water heater stay dark.
A transfer switch: the listing names an L14-30R twist-lock and a 50 amp outlet. That's the plug an inlet box takes. Once an electrician has wired the inlet and a transfer switch or interlock, the furnace and the well pump can run off it too; count that bill on top.
The seller states, word for word, in the Generac 12,500W Tri Fuel EFI listing:
Rocker-switch electric start eliminates pull-cord effort for routine startups.
Runs up to 14 hours at 25% load or 10.5 hours at 50% load on gasoline.
The seller's claims, quoted as written; we haven't measured any of it. The noise on your driveway and the surge of your well pump are things you only find out at home.

What the Generac 12,500W Tri Fuel EFI listing names:
In the box, per the listing: A wheel kit, A starter battery.
The manual for the Generac 12,500W Tri Fuel EFI has the final word on fuel, oil and outlet ratings.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $163.63 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it around the middle of the 37 generators above 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
Count the hookup in the budget too: a heavy cord, an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock, wired by an electrician, are a separate bill.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0DT7SCRK9), where today's price, stock and seller apply. Sizes and variants of the same family often sit at different prices.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 11,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Well pump or central air on the list? The Champion 16,875W Tri Fuel (7.8/10) is rated 13,500 running watts.
Only the fridge and a few lights? The Westinghouse 5,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (9.2/10) is a 3,900 W inverter.
Our take
The Generac 12,500W Tri Fuel EFI earns its place with 8,550 running watts and gasoline, propane and natural gas on one panel. No buyer reviews yet, so this Generac generator has to win you over on paper. Where it falls short: no word on the propane rating. We'd pick it if your house already has a natural gas line; otherwise, put it next to the Champion 11,500W Dual Fuel first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load. Fit the wheel kit first; it is easier on the ground.
Push the start button, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready. The 14 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before you order the Generac 12,500W Tri Fuel EFI, check your load list: 8,550 running watts have to cover everything you run at once, motor surges included.
Read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge.
It has a 50 amp outlet, which still needs an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock installed by an electrician. Our transfer switch guide explains the options.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the Generac 12,500W Tri Fuel EFI stacks up against the closest alternative, the Champion 11,500W Dual Fuel.
| Criterion | Generac 12,500W Tri Fuel EFI | Champion 11,500W Dual Fuel |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.4/10 | 7.4/10 |
| Running watts | 8,550 W | 9,200 W |
| Peak watts | Not stated | 11,500 W |
| Fuels | Gas, propane, natural gas | Gas, propane |
| 50 amp outlet | Stated | Not stated |
Both score 7.4/10. The Champion 11,500W Dual Fuel adds more running watts (9,200 W) and a higher peak (11,500 W), while the Generac 12,500W Tri Fuel EFI brings natural gas as a third fuel and a 50 amp outlet.
We rate it 7.4/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 8,550 W running, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline, propane and natural gas. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 8,550 running watts, gasoline, propane and natural gas on one panel, a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV, a CO sensor that shuts the engine off, push-button electric start and up to 14 hours on a 7.5-gallon tank at 25 % load. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge. How it reaches the house: it has a 50 amp outlet, which still needs an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock installed by an electrician. Our transfer switch guide explains the options. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.