
Generac 8,250W Dual Fuel
7.0Good · out of 10$899 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 8,250 W peak · Gasoline, Propane
- Dual fuel generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
The Generac 8,250W Dual Fuel packs 8,250 peak watts, a gas-or-propane fuel switch and automatic CO shutoff into one generator. It suits storm prep with propane as plan B, and its sibling listing, the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel, holds #4 in our dual fuel generators for home backup ranking.
These are sold as variants of one listing family. Each variant has its own page.
| Brand | Generac |
|---|---|
| Category | Dual fuel generators |
| Peak output | 8250 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, propane |
| Stated runtime | Up to 11 hours at 50 % load |
| CO sensor | Stated, with automatic shutoff |
| Engine | 340 cc |
| ASIN | B0GVG7B6C4 |
Full listing title: Generac 8,250 Starting Watt Dual Fuel Portable Gas Generator Electric Start
| Peak output | Exact listing |
|---|
Two generators that are also open frames, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



The listing states only the peak, the figure for the few seconds a motor starts. Ask for the running watts before you build your load list on it.
What it has going for it
Gasoline or propane. Propane keeps for years in a sealed tank and won't gum up the carburetor between storms; gasoline gives you more watts. Propane is rated lower, so find that figure in the manual.
CO shutoff. It watches for carbon monoxide building up around the unit and shuts the engine off, per the listing. A backup only: the generator still runs outside, about 20 ft from the house, exhaust pointing away.
What the Generac 8,250W Dual Fuel listing names:
In the box, per the listing: A wheel kit, A starter battery.
The manual for the Generac 8,250W Dual Fuel has the final word on fuel, oil and outlet ratings.

On Sep 30, 2026, that price put it around the middle of the 21 generators of 4,000 to 8,000 running watts we have a recent price for.
Add the hookup to the budget: a heavy cord, an inlet box and an electrician's visit for the transfer switch or interlock.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0GVG7B6C4), where today's price, stock and seller apply. Sizes and variants of the same family often sit at different prices.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 8,500W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want to hook it to the gas line? The Champion 8,125W Tri Fuel (7.6/10) runs on gasoline, propane and natural gas.
Planning an inlet box and a transfer switch? The Westinghouse 6,500W Dual Fuel (7.7/10) has an L14-30R outlet.
Our take
Our favourite thing about the Generac 8,250W Dual Fuel is 8,250 peak watts, closely followed by a gas-or-propane fuel switch. No buyer reviews yet, so the Generac 8,250W Dual Fuel has to win you over on paper. Our main reservation: no word on the running watts or the propane rating. We'd pick it if you'd rather store propane tanks than cans of gas; otherwise, put it next to the DuroMax XP5500EH first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load. Fit the wheel kit first; it is easier on the ground.
Push the start button, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready. The 11 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the Generac 8,250W Dual Fuel goes in your cart, check the running watts: the listing gives only a 8,250 W peak figure, and the running figure is what decides what it can carry.
Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums.
Plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the Generac 8,250W Dual Fuel stacks up against the closest alternative, the DuroMax XP5500EH.
| Criterion | Generac 8,250W Dual Fuel | DuroMax XP5500EH |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.0/10 | 7.0/10 |
| Running watts | Not stated | 4,500 W |
| Peak watts | 8,250 W | 5,500 W |
| CO sensor | Stated | Not stated |
| Runtime | 11 h at 50 % | 9 h |
Both score 7.0/10. The DuroMax XP5500EH adds more running watts (4,500 W), while the Generac 8,250W Dual Fuel brings a higher peak (8,250 W) and a CO sensor.
We rate it 7.0/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 8,250 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline and propane. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 8,250 peak watts, the choice of gasoline or propane, a CO sensor that shuts the engine off, push-button electric start and up to 11 hours per tank at 50 % load. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums. How it reaches the house: plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.