
GENMAX GM2000i
6.9Good · out of 10$329.99 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 1,600 W running · 2,000 W peak · Gasoline
- Gas-only generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
1,600 running and 2,000 peak watts, a built-in CO sensor and up to 8 hours on a 1-gallon tank at 50 % load: the GENMAX GM2000i covers what matters most in a generator. Think of it for keeping the fridge and the sump pump running: 6.9/10 on what its listing documents.
| Brand | GENMAX |
|---|---|
| Category | Gas-only generators |
| Running output | 1600 W |
| Peak output | 2000 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline |
| Stated runtime | Up to 8 hours at 50 % load |
| Fuel tank | 1 gallons |
| Stated noise | 60 dB |
| Stated weight | 34 lb |
| CO sensor | Stated in the listing |
| Harmonic distortion | Under 3 % THD |
| Parallel capable | Stated in the listing |
| Stated warranty | 3 years |
| ASIN | B09GVD9L71 |
Full listing title: GENMAX Portable Generator, 2000W Low-Noise Gas Engine, EPA Compliant, Eco Mode Function, Ultra Light, Suitable for Backup Home and Camping(GM2000i)
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators close to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states. At home that means the fridge, the lights, the router and a phone charger or two; central air and a 240 V well pump need a bigger generator.
What it has going for it
CO sensor. A sensor that watches the carbon monoxide around the unit, per the listing. Treat it as a backup: the generator still belongs outside, about 20 ft from doors and windows.
8 h runtime, 1 gal. That is at 50 % load, per the listing. Put the fridge, the furnace fan and the sump pump on it and the hours drop, so plan fuel for the overnight stretch: stabilised cans or a spare 20 lb propane tank.
At the campsite: the listing states 60 dB, two can be linked with a parallel kit and it weighs 34 lb, per the listing. Campgrounds set generator hours; look them up before the trip.
On outage night: 1,600 running watts keep the fridge cold and the lights and the Wi-Fi on, with the big draws taking turns. Central air and a 240 V well pump need more.
What the GENMAX GM2000i listing names:
Warranty & support: A 3-year warranty, as stated in the listing.
That is the maker's promise, not ours. Keep the order confirmation, and register the GENMAX GM2000i if the maker asks you to.
The manual for the GENMAX GM2000i has the final word on fuel, oil and outlet ratings.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $206.24 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it around the middle of the 33 generators up to 4,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
The first fill of oil, a fuel can and a bottle of stabilizer are extra.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B09GVD9L71), where today's price, stock and seller apply.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 2,500W Inverter (7.1/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want propane as a backup fuel? The Westinghouse 2,550W Inverter (7.1/10) runs on gasoline and propane.
Want a CO shutoff? The SIOKIUU 2,500W Inverter (6.9/10) names a CO sensor that shuts the engine off.
Our take
The GENMAX GM2000i earns its place with 1,600 running and 2,000 peak watts and a built-in CO sensor. No buyer reviews yet, so this GENMAX generator has to win you over on paper. The one thing that bugs us: an open frame is loud at full speed, so think about where it sits and who sleeps nearby. We'd pick it if you need the fridge, lights and phones, not the whole house; otherwise, put it next to the Generac 4,500W Gas first.
At 34 lb (stated), have a second person or a dolly ready. Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load.
Pull the cord, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Keep stabilised cans ready, never refuel it hot. The 8 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes. Add stabiliser or run the carburetor dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the GENMAX GM2000i ships, check your load list: 1,600 running watts (2,000 at start-up) have to cover everything you run at once, motor surges included.
Read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge.
Plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
3 years are stated. Read what it covers (engine, alternator, labour), whether you have to register the unit, and where the nearest service centre is.
How the GENMAX GM2000i stacks up against the closest alternative, the Generac 4,500W Gas.
| Criterion | GENMAX GM2000i | Generac 4,500W Gas |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 6.9/10 | 6.8/10 |
| Running watts | 1,600 W | 3,600 W |
| Peak watts | 2,000 W | 4,500 W |
| Runtime | 8 h at 50 % | Not stated |
| Warranty | 3 years | Not stated |
Pick the Generac 4,500W Gas if more running watts (3,600 W) and a higher peak (4,500 W) matter more to you; on our rating, the GENMAX GM2000i comes out ahead.
We rate it 6.9/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 1,600 W running and 2,000 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 1,600 running watts (2,000 at start-up), a built-in CO sensor, up to 8 hours on a 1-gallon tank at 50 % load, a stated 60 dB, parallel capability and a 3-year warranty. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge. How it reaches the house: plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. The warranty terms: 3 years are stated. Read what it covers (engine, alternator, labour), whether you have to register the unit, and where the nearest service centre is.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.