
Pulsar PG12000B
7.3Good · out of 10$1,039.98 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 9,500 W running · 12,000 W peak · Gasoline, Propane
- Dual fuel generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
9,500 running watts (12,000 at start-up), a gas-or-propane fuel switch and a 50 amp outlet: the Pulsar PG12000B covers what matters most in a generator. With electric start as well, it suits long outages with most of the house running.
| Brand | Pulsar |
|---|---|
| Category | Dual fuel generators |
| Running output | 9500 W |
| Peak output | 12000 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, propane |
| Transfer switch ready | Stated in the listing |
| Outlets named in the listing | 50 A (14-50R) |
| Engine | 457 cc |
| CARB compliant | Stated in the listing |
| ASIN | B07SY2Z5Y7 |
Full listing title: Pulsar 12,000W Dual Fuel Portable Generator with Electric Start and Switch & Go Technology, CARB Approved PG12000B
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also open frames, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. Enough, on paper, for the fridge, the chest freezer and the sump pump at once, with the furnace or the well pump on top once a transfer switch is in. Hold the well pump's start-up surge against the peak before you count on it.
What it has going for it
Gasoline or propane. Propane keeps for years in a sealed tank and won't gum up the carburetor between storms; gasoline gives you more watts. Propane is rated lower, so find that figure in the manual.
50 amp outlet. The big plug that feeds a 50 amp inlet box, a transfer switch or a 50 amp RV. One cord carries both legs of 240 V, which is how the well pump and the furnace get power without extension cords through a window.
Extension cords: the cheapest start. The fridge, the freezer and a lamp plug into the 120 V outlets; the furnace, the well pump and the water heater stay dark.
A transfer switch: the listing names a 50 amp outlet. An inlet box on the outside wall takes that plug, and an electrician wires it to a transfer switch or an interlock. After that, the furnace and the well pump run off the generator as well; the electrician's bill comes on top.
What the Pulsar PG12000B listing names:
In the box, per the listing: A wheel kit, A starter battery.
The manual for the Pulsar PG12000B has the final word on fuel, oil and outlet ratings.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $109.47 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it in the cheaper third of the 37 generators above 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
Add the hookup to the budget: a heavy cord, an inlet box and an electrician's visit for the transfer switch or interlock.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B07SY2Z5Y7), where today's price, stock and seller apply.
Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 11,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want to hook it to the gas line? The Westinghouse 13,500W Tri-Fuel (9.2/10) runs on gasoline, propane and natural gas.
Want a CO shutoff? The Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel (7.3/10) names a CO sensor that shuts the engine off.
Our take
Our favourite thing about the Pulsar PG12000B is 9,500 running watts (12,000 at start-up), closely followed by a gas-or-propane fuel switch. No buyer reviews yet, so the Pulsar PG12000B has to win you over on paper. The catch with this Pulsar generator: no CO sensor in the listing, while most picks here have one. We'd pick it if you want most of the house running, not just the fridge; otherwise, put it next to the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load. Fit the wheel kit first; it is easier on the ground.
Push the start button, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual (the hour meter counts them), then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the Pulsar PG12000B goes in your cart, check your hookup: 9,500 running watts are only useful through an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock, so price in the electrician.
9,500 running watts and 12,000 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums.
Ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the Pulsar PG12000B stacks up against the closest alternative, the Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel.
| Criterion | Pulsar PG12000B | Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.3/10 | 7.3/10 |
| Peak watts | 12,000 W | 12,500 W |
| Fuels | Gas, propane | Gas, propane, natural gas |
| CO sensor | Not stated | Stated |
| Runtime | Not stated | 9.5 h at 50 % |
| Buyer reviews | None captured | 48 · 4.3/5 |
Both score 7.3/10. The Generac 12,500W Tri-Fuel adds a higher peak (12,500 W) and natural gas as a third fuel.
We rate it 7.3/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 9,500 W running and 12,000 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline and propane. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 9,500 running watts (12,000 at start-up), the choice of gasoline or propane, a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV and push-button electric start. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: 9,500 running watts and 12,000 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums. How it reaches the house: ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.