
Pulsar PG1202SA
5.6Fair · out of 10$174.49 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 900 W running
- Gas-only generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
900 running watts is the headline feature of the Pulsar PG1202SA. Think of it for job sites and the odd outage at home: 5.6/10 on what its listing documents.
| Brand | Pulsar |
|---|---|
| Category | Gas-only generators |
| Running output | 900 W |
| ASIN | B00EFZQ53W |
Full listing title: Pulsar PG1202SA 1200W Portable Generator, 900 Running Watts, 71cc 2-Cycle Engine, 40:1 Fuel Mix, 120V & 12V Outlets, Recoil Start
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|
Two generators close to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states. Room for the fridge, a few lamps, the router and the phones, as long as the coffee maker waits its turn. Central air and a 240 V well pump are out of its league.
At the campsite: it's an open frame, so expect more noise than an inverter. Check the campground's generator hours before you pack it.
On outage night: 900 running watts cover the fridge, the lights, the router and the phone chargers if you add them up first. Central air and a 240 V well pump are beyond it.
At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $193.88 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it around the middle of the 33 generators up to 4,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
Add a fuel can, stabilizer and a quart of oil for the first fill to the budget.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B00EFZQ53W), where today's price, stock and seller apply.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Westinghouse 1,500W Inverter (6.9/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want propane as a backup fuel? The Pulsar PG2200BiS (6.4/10) runs on gasoline and propane.
Well pump or central air on the list? The Champion 2,500W Inverter (7.1/10) is rated 1,850 running watts.
Our take
The Pulsar PG1202SA is about 900 running watts, and it doesn't pretend to be more. No buyer reviews yet, so the Pulsar PG1202SA has to win you over on paper. Our main reservation: no CO sensor in the listing, while most picks here have one. We'd pick it if you need lights, phones and a laptop, not the fridge; otherwise, put it next to the WEN 56475 first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load.
Pull the cord, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Keep stabilised cans ready, never refuel it hot.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes. Add stabiliser or run the carburetor dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the Pulsar PG1202SA goes in your cart, check your load list: 900 running watts have to cover everything you run at once, motor surges included.
Read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge.
Plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months: stabiliser, a dry place for the cans, and a run every month or so keep it ready. Our fuel storage guide and maintenance schedule cover both.
How the Pulsar PG1202SA stacks up against the closest alternative, the WEN 56475.
| Criterion | Pulsar PG1202SA | WEN 56475 |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 5.6/10 | 6.6/10 |
| Running watts | 900 W | 3,750 W |
| Peak watts | Not stated | 4,750 W |
| Start | Not stated | Electric |
Pick the WEN 56475 if you want our higher-rated option (6.6/10), with more running watts (3,750 W) and a higher peak (4,750 W).
We rate it 5.6/10 (fair). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 900 W running, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing doesn't state its fuels clearly, so check the manual of the exact model. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 900 running watts. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: read the label on each appliance (or the manual) for its running watts, and note which ones have a motor. Our running vs starting watts guide explains why the motor ones need the extra surge. How it reaches the house: plan on heavy-duty extension cords to the appliances, or ask an electrician which inlet and switch would match its outlets. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two routes. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel and storage: gasoline goes stale in a few months: stabiliser, a dry place for the cans, and a run every month or so keep it ready. Our fuel storage guide and maintenance schedule cover both.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.