
DuroMax XP15000HX+
7.5Very good · out of 10See current price ↗- Stated: 12,000 W running · 15,000 W peak · Gasoline, Propane
- Dual fuel generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
The DuroMax XP15000HX+ packs 12,000 running watts (15,000 at start-up), a gas-or-propane fuel switch and built-in CO sensing into one generator. It suits long outages with most of the house running, and its sibling listing, the DuroMax XP13000HX, holds #2 in our dual fuel generators for home backup ranking.
These are sold as variants of one listing family. Each variant has its own page.
| Brand | DuroMax |
|---|---|
| Category | Dual fuel generators |
| Running output | 12000 W |
| Peak output | 15000 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, propane |
| Stated runtime | Up to 17.9 hours at 25 % load |
| CO sensor | Stated in the listing |
| Outlets named in the listing | GFCI household |
| Fuel injection (EFI) | Stated in the listing |
| ASIN | B0F9H8R14F |
Full listing title: DuroMax XP15000HX+ 15,000-Watt Electric Start Dual Fuel EFI Portable Generator
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also open frames, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. Add up what has to run at once (fridge, freezer, sump pump, furnace blower) and the DuroMax XP15000HX+ should have room to spare on paper; the motor that starts last, often the well pump, is the one to plan around.
What it has going for it
Gasoline or propane. Propane keeps for years in a sealed tank and won't gum up the carburetor between storms; gasoline gives you more watts. Propane is rated lower, so find that figure in the manual.
CO sensor. A sensor that watches the carbon monoxide around the unit, per the listing. Treat it as a backup: the generator still belongs outside, about 20 ft from doors and windows.
Extension cords: run a heavy cord from the DuroMax XP15000HX+'s 120 V outlets (GFCI-protected, per the listing) to the fridge and the freezer, and you're set for a night. Hard-wired loads like the furnace and the well pump can't join in that way.
A transfer switch: the listing doesn't name a 30 or 50 amp twist-lock outlet, so look at the panel on the unit itself before you plan an inlet box around it.
What the DuroMax XP15000HX+ listing names:
The manual for the DuroMax XP15000HX+ has the final word on fuel, oil and outlet ratings.

We have no recent price on file for this listing, so we don't print an old one.
Add the hookup to the budget: a heavy cord, an inlet box and an electrician's visit for the transfer switch or interlock.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B0F9H8R14F), where today's price, stock and seller apply. Sizes and variants of the same family often sit at different prices.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 11,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want to hook it to the gas line? The Westinghouse 13,500W Tri-Fuel (9.2/10) runs on gasoline, propane and natural gas.
Want a CO shutoff? The WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog (7.8/10) names a CO sensor that shuts the engine off.
Our take
What we'd buy the DuroMax XP15000HX+ for is 12,000 running watts (15,000 at start-up), with a gas-or-propane fuel switch as a bonus. No buyer reviews yet, so this DuroMax generator has to win you over on paper. The one thing that bugs us: no 50 amp outlet in the listing, while most picks here have one. We'd pick it if you want most of the house running, not just the fridge; otherwise, put it next to the Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load.
Start it with the fob, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready. The 17.9 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual (the hour meter counts them), then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before the DuroMax XP15000HX+ goes in your cart, check your hookup: 12,000 running watts are only useful through an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock, so price in the electrician.
12,000 running watts and 15,000 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums.
Ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the DuroMax XP15000HX+ stacks up against the closest alternative, the Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel.
| Criterion | DuroMax XP15000HX+ | Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.5/10 | 7.6/10 |
| Running watts | 12,000 W | 9,500 W |
| Peak watts | 15,000 W | 12,500 W |
| 50 amp outlet | Not stated | Stated |
| CO sensor | Stated | Not stated |
Pick the Westinghouse 12,500W Dual Fuel if you want our higher-rated option (7.6/10), with a 50 amp outlet; stay with the DuroMax XP15000HX+ for more running watts (12,000 W) and a higher peak (15,000 W).
We rate it 7.5/10 (very good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 12,000 W running and 15,000 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline and propane. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 12,000 running watts (15,000 at start-up), the choice of gasoline or propane, a built-in CO sensor, remote start from a key fob, up to 17.9 hours per tank at 25 % load and fuel injection (no carburetor to gum up). These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: 12,000 running watts and 15,000 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums. How it reaches the house: ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away (the CO sensor is a backup, not a permission). Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.