
Pulsar G12KBN-SG
7.4Good · out of 10$929.99 Price on Sep 30, 2026 · may have changed- Stated: 9,500 W running · 12,000 W peak · Gasoline, Propane
- Dual fuel generators

Product images: Amazon listings
Written from the listing's specs, not from our own use · How we rate
On paper, the Pulsar G12KBN-SG gets the important things right: 9,500 running and 12,000 peak watts, the choice of gasoline or propane and a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV. Think of it for whole-house backup through a transfer switch: 7.4/10 on what its listing documents.
| Brand | Pulsar |
|---|---|
| Category | Dual fuel generators |
| Running output | 9500 W |
| Peak output | 12000 W |
| Listed fuels | gasoline, propane |
| Stated runtime | Up to 12 hours at 50 % load |
| Fuel tank | 8 gallons |
| Transfer switch ready | Stated in the listing |
| Outlets named in the listing | 50 A (14-50R) |
| Engine | 457 cc |
| CARB compliant | Stated in the listing |
| ASIN | B08FBXVQZL |
Full listing title: Pulsar G12KBN-SG Heavy Duty Portable Dual Fuel Generator - 9500 Rated Watts & 12000 Peak Watts - Gas & LPG - Electric Start - Transfer Switch & RV Ready - CARB Compliant
| Running output | Exact listing |
|---|---|
| Peak output | Exact listing |
Two generators that are also open frames, of about the same size, closest to it on our rating, each with a dated price.



That's the running figure the listing states, on gasoline. Add up what has to run at once (fridge, freezer, sump pump, furnace blower) and the Pulsar G12KBN-SG should have room to spare on paper; the motor that starts last, often the well pump, is the one to plan around.
What it has going for it
Gasoline or propane. Propane keeps for years in a sealed tank and won't gum up the carburetor between storms; gasoline gives you more watts. Propane is rated lower, so find that figure in the manual.
50 amp outlet. The big plug that feeds a 50 amp inlet box, a transfer switch or a 50 amp RV. One cord carries both legs of 240 V, which is how the well pump and the furnace get power without extension cords through a window.
Extension cords: the fridge, the freezer and a lamp or two plug straight into the 120 V outlets on the frame. It costs little, but the furnace, the well pump and anything hard-wired stay off.
A transfer switch: the listing names a 50 amp outlet. That's the plug an inlet box takes. Once an electrician has wired the inlet and a transfer switch or interlock, the furnace and the well pump can run off it too; count that bill on top.
What the Pulsar G12KBN-SG listing names:
The manual has the last word on fuel, oil and the outlet ratings; read it before the first start.

At the price on Sep 30, 2026, each 1,000 running watts works out at about $97.89 (price ÷ stated running watts, our arithmetic). That puts it in the cheaper third of the 37 generators above 8,000 running watts we have a price and a stated running figure for.
Add the hookup to the budget: a heavy cord, an inlet box and an electrician's visit for the transfer switch or interlock.
The button opens the exact listing (ASIN B08FBXVQZL), where today's price, stock and seller apply.

Want it quieter, or cleaner power for electronics? The Champion 11,000W Dual Fuel Inverter (7.8/10) is an inverter, per its listing.
Want to hook it to the gas line? The Westinghouse 13,500W Tri-Fuel (9.2/10) runs on gasoline, propane and natural gas.
Want a CO shutoff? The WEN 14,500W Tri-Fuel, CO Watchdog (7.8/10) names a CO sensor that shuts the engine off.
Our take
The Pulsar G12KBN-SG earns its place with 9,500 running and 12,000 peak watts and the choice of gasoline or propane. No buyer reviews yet, so this Pulsar generator has to win you over on paper. Our main reservation: no CO sensor in the listing, while most picks here have one. We'd pick it if you want most of the house running, not just the fridge; otherwise, put it next to the Champion 11,500W Dual Fuel first.
Fill it with oil before the first start, then run it for a few minutes outside with a small load.
Push the start button, let it warm up, then add loads one at a time, the biggest motor first. Propane or gas: decide before the storm and have the hose and the tank ready. The 12 hours on the listing are at a light load; plan a refill at night.
Run it every month or so for 20 minutes and keep the battery charged. On propane you avoid stale gas in the carburetor; on gas, add stabiliser or run it dry before storage. Our maintenance schedule has the full list.
First oil change after the break-in hours in the manual, then on schedule. Air filter and spark plug once a season, and a cover for the months it sits.
Before you order the Pulsar G12KBN-SG, check your hookup: 9,500 running watts are only useful through an inlet box and a transfer switch or interlock, so price in the electrician.
9,500 running watts and 12,000 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums.
Ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two.
Outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details.
Gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
How the Pulsar G12KBN-SG stacks up against the closest alternative, the Champion 11,500W Dual Fuel.
| Criterion | Pulsar G12KBN-SG | Champion 11,500W Dual Fuel |
|---|---|---|
| Our rating | 7.4/10 | 7.4/10 |
| Running watts | 9,500 W | 9,200 W |
| Peak watts | 12,000 W | 11,500 W |
| 50 amp outlet | Stated | Not stated |
| CO sensor | Not stated | Stated |
Both score 7.4/10. The Champion 11,500W Dual Fuel adds a CO sensor, while the Pulsar G12KBN-SG brings more running watts (9,500 W) and a higher peak (12,000 W).
We rate it 7.4/10 (good). The rating comes from its documented listing alone, as no customer-review record is captured yet.
The listing or manual states 9,500 W running and 12,000 W peak, usually for gasoline. Size your load list against the running watts and keep the peak for motor starts; propane and natural gas ratings are lower. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements (our sizing calculator turns your loads into a running and peak pair).
The listing names gasoline and propane. Output differs by fuel, so check the per-fuel running watts in the manual and whether the hoses you need come in the box. Run it outdoors only, away from doors, windows and vents.
Its listing states 9,500 running watts (12,000 at start-up), the choice of gasoline or propane, a 50 amp outlet for an inlet box or an RV, push-button electric start and up to 12 hours on a 8-gallon tank at 50 % load. These are the seller's figures, not our measurements: how loud it is in your driveway and how it handles your well pump's surge can't be read from a listing.
Your load list: 9,500 running watts and 12,000 at start-up, per the listing. Write down what has to run at the same time, add the biggest motor surge (well pump, sump pump, AC), and let our sizing calculator do the sums. How it reaches the house: ask an electrician to quote an inlet box plus a transfer switch or an interlock before you buy, so the total is no surprise. Our interlock vs transfer switch guide compares the two. Where it will run: outside only, about 20 ft from doors, windows and vents, exhaust pointing away. Pick the spot now, before the storm. Our CO safety and placement guide has the details. Fuel for three days: gasoline goes stale in a few months without stabiliser; propane keeps. Check the propane rating in the manual if propane is your plan. Our fuel storage guide covers storage.
We link to the exact listing on Amazon, where today's price, stock and seller apply. It is an affiliate link, and it has no effect on the rating.
No, we haven't used it ourselves. Everything on this page comes from its listing, read line by line and weighed with our published formula, plus our editors' read of how it compares with its rivals.